E-Pubs & White Papers


10462954_855350971161635_7714838161188535654_n


A white paper is an “authoritative report or guide that informs readers concisely about a complex issue.”


Now, is it my imagination, or couldn’t that definition be applied to the result of the procedural act of a teacher’s writing a lesson plan? As well, could it not be applied to recording creative writing methods’ steps, in a prompt?


Instead of making things easier on students who need to acquire written ability, if students are required to utilize their creative minds to flesh out a method for creating the best words, in their best order, I think that, while using their minds to write about how to create the best words, in their best order, they’ll accomplish at least two things, simultaneously:


1. Thinking about written communication, meta-cognitively, as they’re composing.


2. Carrying out the act of monitoring before, during and after the writing is carried out.


3. Assuring, after the fact, that what has been accomplished is prone, such to have met the intended goal(s) the writer had in mind, that caused him or her to have written.


4. After the white paper has been distributed, the result(s) should be  evidenced by the implementation of the “document’s” directions and/or person’s or persons’ inquiries about specific parts of the white paper’s content.


The fact that I was able to recall what I thought an individual had communicated to me as The Objective, Correlative Method for writing poetry, inadvertently, led me to flesh the procedure out and document the process, quite succinctly,   many   years    after  I   was “taught” it. Then, several semesters after that I found out that I had a problem; in that, while preparing to write my thesis on the topic “The Objective, Correlative meth-od”, I knew that it wasn’t really the objective, correlative method, at all.


Whatever it was, it definitely was and is a concisely written guide that informs readers about a “complex” issue. (A Bon Danza…)


The fact is that, even though I sustained eleventeen (15) brain strokes, was subjected to nearly-lethal spinal meningitis and had to undergo a scary 14-hour craniotomy, in a foreign country, utilizing what most interested me, just before I almost died, I  figured out, has been  able  to help me  begin to succeed; then, once  I  was  successful, again,  I used  my newly  discovered ability to  thrive,  academically,  as a student  (producing instructions for other  students) and as a tutor of other students.


The final peice of the puzzle that I’ve  most-recently reckoned is the one that is shaped like the way to apply what I’ve learned and done to a real-world audience and set of clientele. (Industrial Procedural Design and Training materials, in multiple formats, is what I’m thinking of.)


10462954_855350971161635_7714838161188535654_n


(Home)


