Gear For Memory Reclamation


This is really cool; to some, it might not seem likely that using a piece of software, in conjunction with another piece of software, (Microsoft Word), that is, and two pieces of hardware, (a PC and a digital voice recorder) could be used to rehab one’s cognition. But, I did it it!


*Acquire:


A.  A personal computer,


B.  Microsoft Word,


C.  A digital recorder that can be


      integrated with the com-


      puter and MS Word, by way


      of a USB cord/port,


D. A USB cord and Dragon 


      NaturallySpeaking!. This can


      be downloaded, at:

      www.nuance.com,


     if you don’t buy it at a store.


      Although, the microphone


       /headset will have to  be


      purchased, separately.


      Now, what I did was use the


      five abovementioned things,


     together, as a graduate stud-


     ent; but, anyone can use the


     “system” for school settings,


     in social interactions or in


     the workplace, as well.


1.   First of all, I used the digital


recorder to tape every second of


every lecture of my grad  school.


2.  For social interactions, even


though your friends might, at


first, think what you are doing 


is slightly bizarre, once you ex-


plain to them that you are doing


something to re-strengthen 


your memory, they will be cool


with it  and, eventually, they 


will forget about the recorder,


altogether.


3.  For work-contingent inter-


actions, definitely clear your use


of the recorder in the workplace


before starting to use it there.


This is due to the fact that, as the owner of a


the owner of a business, one’s


boss might take massive issue


with being recorded.


4.  For personal reading of most any


  book,  magazine(s), et. cetera.


  When I began to use the system:


  Dragon NaturallySpeaking!, Microsoft


  Word, the Sony digital recorder and pc,


  it seemed to be much like what I had

  done, previously, as an undergraduate

 student.


 Due to what transpired to me and my


 GPA, as an undergrad student, I was


 not very confident. This was due to the


 fact that I had used a recorder to tape


 lectures, one semester, and exper-

 ienced fairly decent success.


     I took this rather gigantic tape recorder      to class with me and taped lectures;          then, after class, I rewound the tape            and listened to the recording(s),                  cherrypicking, useful bits of infor-                mation, as I heard them, played back.


The tape recorder had a headset connected to it and allowed me to listen to and type pertinent notes from lectures…I remember not really getting the idea that anything was different; yet, on the first quiz I took, after I started using the tape recorder, I scored a B+!!!


This turn of events kinda enthused me; but, like a jackass, I never thought to use the recorder for any other class and, then, the recorder ceased to work…


I definitely remember having called the people, in Princeton, New Jersey, who supplied me the recorder, and being told that there was nothing I could do…that every disabled student received one “apparatus”, per school year.


Now, why I just didn’t shell out the cash to replace the recorder, myself, I will never know. I just didn’t do it and, suffice it to say, I just didn’t do anywhere near as well in the course as I could have done. (Hee-Haw…)


In reality, I don’t think the continued use of the system I was using, as an undergraduate student, would, likely, have had any real, profound reparative effect on my memory deficit. It was a little too disjointed and the heft of the recorder made it labor-intensive to transport to and from class.


I really didn’t care that it made me look a ventriloquist, carrying around my dummy in a trunk because it was letting me succeed in content-area, non-writing-intensive classes.


It might have been possible for me to have done quite well in writing-intensive classes, too, due to the lessoned burden on my cognition; I just don’t know. I wasn’t taking any content-area writing intensive courses.


The amazing potential that I see is for the memory-compromised individual who has no thought of ever necessarily going back to school or work.


My life has become increasingly better and easier, since my memory deficit has been caused to wane.



Leave a Reply

