Short-Term-Memory-Deficit Repair

cropped-10462954_855350971161635_7714838161188535654_n.jpg


This is really cool; to some, it might not seem likely that using a piece of software, in conjunction with another piece of software, Microsoft Word, and two pieces of hardware, a PC and a digital voice recorder could be used to rehab one’s cognition.

But, I did it it! (Oh, yeah, I used a usb cord and my computer’s usb port, too.)

*Acquire:  

A. A  personal  computer, 


B. MS Word,


C. A digital recorder, synched with


D. The computer and MS Word,


E. By way of a USB port,  


F.  a USB  cord  and


G. Dragon NaturallySpeaking!.This can be downloaded, at: nuance.com, if you don’t buy it at a store. Although, the micro phone/headset will have to be purchased, separately.


Now, what I did was use the five above-mentioned things, together, as a graduate student; but, anyone can use the “system” for school settings, in social interactions or in business-contingent environments, as well.


1.  First of all, I used the digital       recorder to capture every second of each lecture of my graduate schooling.


2. For social interactions, your friends might, at first, think what you are doing is slightly bizarre, once you explain to       them that you are doing something to restrengthen your memory, they will be   cool with it and, eventually, will forget about the recorder, altogether.


3. For work-contingent interactions, definitely clear your use of the recorder in the workplace, before starting to use it there. This is due to the fact that, as the owner of a business, one’s ultimate boss of where one works might take massive issue with having you record            what goes on.


4. For personal reading of most any book, magazine(s), etc. 


When I began to use the system: Dragon Naturally Speaking!, Microsoft Word, the Sony digital recorder and the pc, (w/my usb cord and usb port) it seemed to be much like what I had done, previously, as an undergraduate student.


Due to what transpired to me and my GPA, as an undergrad student, I was not very confident. This was so; as, I had used a recorder to tape lectures, one semester, and experienced fairly decent success.


I took this rather gigantic tape recorder to class with me and taped lectures; then rewound the tape and listened to the re-cording(s), cherrypicking, useful bits of information, as I heard them, played back.


The  tape  recorder  had  a  headset  connected  to it and  allowed me  to listen to and  type pertinent  notes  from lectures…I remember not really getting the idea that anything  was different; yet, on the first quiz I took, after I started using the tape recorder, I scored a B+!!!


This turn of events kinda enthused me; but, like a jackass, I never thought to use the  recorder  for  any   other   class   and, then , the recorder ceased to work…even -though it was a very arduous task to use it,  though,  when  I  used  it,  magically, I scored high B’s on quizzes.


I  definitely remember  having called the people,   in   Princeton, New Jersey,   who supplied me the recorder, and being told that  there was nothing I could do… that every    disabled    student   received  one “apparatus”, per school year.


Now, why I just didn’t shell out the cash to  replace  the  recorder,  myself,  I   will never   know.   I   just  didn’t   do  it  and, suffice  it  to  say,  I  just  didn’t  do any- where  near  as  well  in  the  course  as  I could have done. (Hee-Haw…)


In reality,  I don’t think  the  continued use  of  the  system  I  was  using,  as an undergraduate  student,  would,  likely, have had any real, profound reparative effect  on  my memory  deficit. It was a little too disjointed and the heft of the recorder   made  it   labor-intensive  to transport to and from class.


I really didn’t care that it made me look a ventriloquist,  carrying  around my dummy  in a trunk  because  it was  letting me succeed   in   content-area,   non-writing intensive classes.


It might  have been  possible  for  me  to have  done  quite well in writing-intensive   classes,  too,  due  to  the  lessened burden   on  my  cognition;  I  just  don’t know. I wasn’t taking any content-area writing intensive courses.


cropped-10462954_855350971161635_7714838161188535654_n.jpg


Leave a Reply

